Hmm, I am called to answer to the following question:

“What are your first impressions with the social science perspective on Industrial Ecology and how do they relate to earlier experiences with the social sciences”?

Social Sciences?? What is that?  Well, according to Wikipedia it is the field of scholarship that studies society.  Moreover, social sciences is commonly used as an umbrella term to refer to a plurality of fields outside of the natural sciences.  These include: anthropology, archaeology, business, administration, communication, criminology, economics, education, government, linguistics, international relations, political science, sociology and in some contexts geography, history, law and psychology.

Wow, that was a huge list. As I perceive it social sciences is a multidisciplinary field, that always takes into account the human dimension?!

Before stating my impressions, I think it is important to mention that Industrial Ecology embodies not only a scientific approach to environmental problems, but also a social sciences, including economics, approach.  Although Industrial Ecology is a relatively new field of study not many would argue that the essence of it has concerned the Social Sciences for many decades now. It is interesting to see that there are proponents and opponents of this field and also is interesting to analyze the arguments for that.  Furthermore, I feel that it is an essential need to analyze why things are done the way they are.  The mechanisms of decision-taking are not always clear.  What is really taking place behind the scenes?  I think that social sciences do exactly that.  Analyze the decisions that are taken and argue about it.

Unfortunately my earlier experiences with social sciences are almost negligible.  What thrills me is when I hear new theories I never imagined myself and so become intrigued to think about it all over again and produce new thoughts, ideas and why not… theories!!

What would you answer to this question???!

It seems I.E. needs collaboration!!

